Established in 1981 as the Gay Business Association, The Sydney Gay & Lesbian Business Association Inc. (SGLBA) was the first LGBTIQ Business Association in Australia.

It evolved from the need for a safe place for LGBTIQ business people to meet like-minded professionals during a time when being LGBTIQ was still a criminal offence in New South Wales.

The membership voted to appoint Katherine Maver, their first openly Trans Woman. This is a historic moment and is a move to ensure that the board and association is truly diverse.

Katherine is an experienced Senior Project Manager who is a member of the Complex Programme Management practice within IBM. She is highly respected in IBM as a person who is driven and can deliver projects without the compromise of quality. Currently she is working at the A/NZ GBS Demand and Fulfilment Lead which looks at the pipeline of work and the associated management system.

Katherine is an active member of the Trans community since transitioning 25 years ago, and she uses her standing in the corporate world to influence and effect change while continuing the fight for equality in the workplace. 

In 2017, Katherine launched “The Diversity Shift” which is a public speaking and mentoring company, whose sole aim is to shift the conversation around diversity from tolerance to acceptance. In 2018, Katherine was one of the founding members of Trans Pride Australia, which promotes visibility and awareness of Transgender and Gender Diverse matters in the greater community. Katherine has used her position as a leader to fight for LGBTIQ rights in the corporate sector.

The SGLBA Creates History Again

Outgoing President Mark Haines addresses the membership at the 2017/18 AGM held at the ACON offices in Surry Hills.

The SGLBA Creates History Again

Newly elected board members include (L-R) Jon Le Breton, Cesar Moreno and Ben Cabello.

The Presidents Club

Simon Davies was elected as President of the association in 1999, having previously served as Vice President. Each of the SGLBA members below has served as President since that time, most recently Katherine Maver who was elected this evening, Tuesday 16th October.

The SGLBA Creates History Again

(L-R) Scott Quine, Christoper Brooks, Mark Haines, Katherine Maver (newly elected President), Simon Davies and Stephen Peoples.

Also elected to the board was:

  • Jarrod Lomas
  • Emma Hunt
  • Chris Colwell
  • Derek Bell
  • Blake Mason
  • Jon Le Breton
  • Ben Cabello
  • Cesar Moreno

Katherine and the new board have met and are looking forward to ensuring that the SGLBA remains a place where business meets community.